Welcome to Bayel, City of the Crystal.
The Crystal Museum was created in 1994. Designed as an ecomuseum, the inhabitants of Bayel gave it its soul. You will discover a first phase devoted to the history of glass and crystal from antiquity to the present day, the tools and manufacturing techniques remained identical to those of the encyclopedia Diderot and D’Alembert. Many masterpieces of the “Best Workers of France” and many other exceptional creations presented in a real “treasure” of the great period of Decorative Arts (1925/1940). An 8-minute video, shot in the workshops of the Cristallerie Royale de Champagne, illustrates the different stages of production: mouth-blowing, hand-size, sandblasting, satin-finishing, gilding, etc.
A second sociological phase of great importance presents “La Vie des Bayellois Formerly” in the form of a permanent exhibition evoking themes such as the social, cultural, sports and associative life of glassmakers, keeping the manufacture as the central core of their lives. The paternalism present quite early by the Commissary of Bayel glassworks in 1870 became the worker cooperative called “the Copette” in 1910.
Since May 2016, the group HAVILAND-DAUM has decided to close the doors of the production site of the Crystal Royal Crystal of Bayel. To safeguard our heritage, the Bayellois know-how, the Crystal Museum has created a Glass Workshop and set up blowing demonstrations in addition to visiting its rooms and videos.
Other benefits are added to the blowing demonstrations such as the creation workshop Christmas Balls, the workshop Easter Eggs – painting on glass and an annual festival called “Festival of the St. Lawrence, patron of glassmakers” the last weekend of August. Other benefits will gradually emerge to develop tourism and economic activity in Bayel.
Please wait, we are looking for availability ...